Maker of Mountains

I will lift my eyes to the maker of the mountains I can’t climb. I will lift my eyes to the calmer of the oceans raging wild. I will lift my eyes to the healer of the hurt I hold inside. I will life my eyes…to You. (lyrics by Bebo Norman, taken from Ps 121)

Just a song I sung in church this morning, a song I felt this morning. The creator of the Rockies in Colorado and the Austrian alps, the Himalayas in Nepal and the mountains I hear are beautiful in Romania, this Creator is the same God holding my hurt, and the hurt of those around me. This is not just a father figure, a friend, or an advisor in times of need. He is all of these things, but so much more. He is a sovereign God, one who gives hope and shalom. One who no man can understand but all men can recognize as deserving of glory (Rom 11:33-36). The sun sings of His majesty, the mountains proclaim His glory, the grass cries of His holiness and the trees whisper His name. He is God, and I am in awe of Him this morning.

My home away from home in the Rockies of Colorado

Dachstein Mountains, my favorite view in Austria this summer

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

