On the Nature of Stress

So this week I was chatting with someone about stress, worry, busyness, and the like. One thought that came up that I want to share with you is connected with this graph.

This graph measures cortisol levels–otherwise known as level of arousal, level of stress, anxiety, etc. We perform best when we are a little bit stressed, we are under some pressure, etc. But after we surpass this prime level, we start performing worse, our memory decreases, you get the picture.

I think I’m living at the top of this curve, and a little to the right. But I don’t think I can stay here for too long, so it has come to my attention that I need to either lower some of that stress, that constant heightened awareness, or I will slip to the right side of this curve. I will go downhill. Staying where I’m at isn’t an option. This place isn’t stable–I’m either going forward or backward.  So…I need to force myself to let go of things that make me worry, I need to give myself breaks, and I need to keep working on saying “no” so that I can keep myself from slipping down the right side of this curve.

Also, Christ commands us to let go of worry!

31So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32 For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. 33 But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. 34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own. -Matthew 6

Just some thoughts…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

