(For Class) Starting to Research…

As I begin to research the effectiveness of sustained silent reading, I am reminded of my own experience on and off from elementary through high school with DEAR time (Drop Everything And Read). I loved it because I loved reading, but many people dreaded this 15 minutes of silent free reading time, and it was given no context, no introduction or debriefing, and there was no social value for interpersonal learners because we were all reading different things and couldn’t even talk about it for lack of understanding of the others’ reading experience. As I suspected, my research is showing that SSR is more effective when it is given some context, and when students already have some value for reading. I have yet to see someone say that SSR is ineffective, however, for other readers…it seems that the authors are shying away from coming out and saying it. Hmm.

Just for fun…because I like libraries and books, a friend showed me this picture of flowers made from books to use at my wedding someday

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

