This isn’t for class!

Now, a blog post for me, about me, and not about research (though that’s not all bad).

Something the Psalms said to me a few days ago that won’t leave my mind..

Ascribe to the Lord glory and strength. Ascribe to the Lord the glory due his name; bring an offering and come into his courts. Worship the Lord in the splendor of his holiness; tremble before him, all the earth. Say among the nations, “The Lord reigns.”

-from Psalm 96

I’ve always favored the “God is my friend” side of things over the “God is the Holy One to be feared,” but lately I’ve been focusing on how deserving God is of our praise. We praise our friends for little things, but I mean the kind of  praise that comes from a state of personal awe. Jaw-dropping, heart-stopping, overwhelming. When I catch a glimpse of God’s work in the world, seeing how things work together for His good and for ours, I am floored. He deserves all glory, and I am told to recognize God for this. “Ascribe to the Lord the glory due His name.” We should be so amazed by this God that we can’t keep it inside. We don’t just believe He is worthy of worship, we “say among the nations, “The Lord reigns.”” He is just that great.

Just some thoughts…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to This isn’t for class!

  1. So true! I don’t think we, the Christian community, truly “fear” God enough – if we did, would we really do some of the things we do? We say we know He’s with us in everything we do, but, sadly, we don’t always act like it. Dwelling on the greatness of God is truly mind-boggling though. If you ever want your brain to hurt, just try thinking about how God has always been. That there was no “beginning” of God…He just…was. Wow! He is definitely deserving of all the praise and worship (both inward and outward) we can bring.

Leave a Reply

