literacy assessment + retreat = life

 

You should probably know that this blog is about to be filled with posts about a student that I have yet to be assigned which I will begin doing practicum with at the local elementary school. I will be giving literacy tests once a week including…

 

  • running record/miscue analysis
  • cloze test
  • phonics assessments
  • phonemic awareness
  • fluency testing (or maybe just taking anecdotal notes on fluency…)
  • interest inventory
  • vocabulary checklists
  • comprehension checks
  • Burke reading inventory

…all for my class “diagnosis and correction of reading problems.”

In other news, I am off this afternoon to go on a 24 hour retreat to Ingham Okoboji (IA) with various students across campus. I’m excited to see what insights I gain from the speakers there but more importantly, what experiences I have resting in my Beloved Lord and Saviour, and abiding in Him. It is cold, but I hope to still spend some of tomorrow afternoon outside reading or walking (two of my favorite things). This week has been so busy, and I have struggled to intentionally remain grounded in Christ throughout my days. I find myself begging for time to rest in Him, but forgetting that every moment is a chance to rest in Him, regardless of where I am and what is going on around me. So this weekend, I will be actively searching out ways to dwell in the Lord, because as the Word says…

Remain in me, and I will remain in you. For a branch cannot produce fruit if it is severed from the vine, and you cannot be fruitful unless you remain in me. -John 15:4

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

