Nikos Kazantzakis

In “The Ragamuffin Gospel,” which I just finished reading, Brennan Manning cites a prayer by Nikos Kazantzakis:

I am a bow on your hands, Lord.
Draw me, lest I rot.
Do not overdraw me, Lord. I shall break.
Overdraw me, Lord, and who cares if I break.

Because the word “break” has been a key part of my vocabulary as I think about the coming summer of service, this appealed to me. Do I ask to be protected from breaking? Do I ask to break? Is there a middle ground?

Kazantzakis_black_and_whiteSo I looked up Kazantzakis, and he is Greek! Cool, I’m headed to Greece in 13 days. But the Greek Orthodox and Roman Catholic churches have condemned and/or prohibited some of his literary works. hmm…something to think about.

Fun fact: Kazantzakis’ epitaph reads “I hope for nothing. I fear nothing. I am free.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

