Old books smell funny…and some culture shock.

Well, it’s a Friday, folks. As we wrap up a week in the library, mostly sorting the books in the back room, we have shelves filled with old books (pre-1930, some as old as 1810)…

old books look so neat, but they are also very dusty, occasionally smell funny, and take up space while rarely being useful in the library...

old books look so neat, but they are also very dusty, occasionally smell funny, and take up space while rarely being useful in the library…shelves of old books...

shelves of old books…

    

Shelves of duplicates, meaning the library already has one or more copies of that book…

some of the duplicates we found hidden in the back room

some of the duplicates we found hidden in the back room

And a wall of books that have cleared these two checkpoints and lost their dust covers. There are still more to be sorted, but each book we look at is a step in the right direction

In other news, the team from Liberty University in Virginia has been very kind to us, but they are only here one more week before we are left group-less for July. We have a bucket list of things to see/do before we leave so we expect to stay at least somewhat busy even without guests coming and going.

God has really been challenging me these last few days. I think I’m finally experiencing culture shock, even though it’s been nearly 4 weeks since we arrived and we are fast approaching the halfway point of our journey. I’m trying to focus on doing the “next right thing” each moment, rather than stressing about whether overall I am spending my time the way I should. The blessing in all of this: it brings me to my knees before the Lord in a way that I haven’t “needed Him” in as obvious a sense prior to this week.

If I were to list prayer requests my list would be a mile long, so I ask instead that you allow my stories and words to inform your prayer and simply pray as the Lord leads you. I can hardly begin to thank those of you who do pray for me—whether that’s every day, once in a while or even just one time. Know that I not only appreciate this, I rely upon it, as do the ministries and people I see and work with while here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

