Parea

Two neat experiences I would like to tell you about:

On Friday night, after a day in the library, I went with a few of the people from the Bible College about 7 km away to a warehouse where bibles are being packed to give to the Greek people from 10 am to 10 pm most weekdays for the next couple weeks till they finish (more than 100,000 bibles this year to package). This is Operation Joshua, run by Hellenic Ministries. The best part about going there Friday to help pack was that I saw so many fellow Christians from Greece, America, and elsewhere that I did not know I would ever see again, and did not expect to see together. Having been at a few different ministries and churches in Athens in the last month, I realized that I’ve met a lot of people and that the Christian community in Athens is….well, let’s just say that if you can start to feel like you know everyone after a month, that says something. I could go on forever about this ministry to give out bibles and why I think there is beauty and why I struggle with it, but you can facebook or email me if you want to know more 🙂

Saturday and Sunday Kelsey and I ventured to the island of Mykonos, where we were invited to go with a new friend of ours. There ended up being 6 of us there and we had some neat adventures, even on this island that seems a bit like the Las Vegas of Greece. We had a lot of beach time (and consequently, sunburn), but also a lot of good parea. I learned that the Greeks are all about this parea, the good conversation over coffee, the hanging out with people—what I think is basically the layman’s term for fellowship. This trip that began with anxiety ended up being an opportunity to stand in awe of God’s faithfulness and provision. This weekend was a time of being driven to prayer, letting go of my own control, and recognizing the unity we have as brothers and sisters in Christ across cultural and language barriers, and even across differences of opinion within the faith. It may look like a weekend retreat to a party island, but God used it for so much more (and no, we didn’t go out partying, so you can relax, Patrick 🙂 )

Now enjoy this recent prayer poem find:

Someone prayed for me as I went about my daily tasks,

And that prayer was wafted through the air as a refreshing fragrance

And brought a breath of Spring into my life.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

