Ministry

Something I’ve been thinking about a lot lately is the question “What is ministry?” I was recently asked by a Greek friend what I wanted to do with my life. “Oh, maybe teach, or be a librarian, or something in ministry related to education” (this was the general gist of my answer). People talk about “going into ministry” and I know what they mean, but when I think about my own life I know that I’m going on to do work for the Kingdom of God, but I don’t know if it is something specifically called “ministry.” Wikipedia tells me that “ministry is an activity carried out by Christians to express or spread their faith.”

A pastor gets paid and works in ministry.

A missionary does not get paid and works in ministry.

I am doing short-term missions working in a bible college library abroad. If I did the same thing for a bible college in the states, would I be “doing ministry”? Absolutely, but we might not use the same terminology.

If I am a teacher in Iowa, am I any less worthy of saying that I’m in full-time ministry? I don’t think so, because I think that when we do work for God, we are always in ministry.

Maybe I’m the only one who thinks about these things, but if you have any input, please leave me a comment!

In the meantime, I’m off to “do ministry” by barcoding, scanning, and sorting through books, because that is part of training up people who attend the bible college to spread the good news.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ministry

  1. Charissa Thornton says:

    Your posts are very entertaining! (: Thanks for writing… Keep it up, friend! Also, I really like this thoughtful look at ministry. It reminds me of a church that I visited once. Over the doors, before you walked out, it read, “You are now entering the mission field.”

  2. Love your thoughts on ministry, as I’ve had similar questions in that last couple of months. Love your heart and can’t wait to hear about all of your stories when you head back to NWC!

Leave a Reply

