Re-entry

re-entryI read the book Re-Entry this week for three reasons.

  1. It was required by the SOS program.
  2. I love to read (especially when a book is given to me).
  3. I really desire to re-enter life in America well. I want to be humble, give grace, be healthy, and remember the experience while not allowing myself to be mentally stuck in another place.

This book repeated many of the same ideas I’d heard from others, and I realized that most of it had to do with expectations.

*Do I expect everyone around me to want to know everything there is to know about what I experienced this summer? This is a very selfish way to look at it, but is all too common. Not everyone wants to know, and those who are curious all want to know different things. This is ok, and I must extend grace when I catch myself frustrated with others for their lack of curiosity. (Interestingly, I haven’t experienced this as much because I’ve been a bit of a hermit at home with my family since I returned. This may change in a week when I return to college.)

*Do I expect to be treated as some kind of hero or super-Christian? If so, that’s a problem. Just because I went on a 2 month mission/service trip does not make me any better of a  Christian or an expert on crossing cultures. (Though I do feel like quite the airport expert.)

*Do I expect my relationship with God to stay the same here as it was there? This is a dangerous expectation. I cannot let up on my intentionality with the Lord. While in Greece, everyone I knew was telling me they were praying for me, and they prayed that I would remain rooted in prayer and in the Word. I also had a wonderful host who asked good questions about my faith week, and with whom I shared my story (I don’t like the word testimony). Talk about accountability. It was much easier to be faithful in my walk with the Lord there. So I cannot just expect this to continue. I must be intentional: scheduling time to keep studying Romans and Job (my focus this summer), practicing spiritual disciplines that I developed over the last 2 months, and really devoting each day to God, trusting that He works in mighty ways here just as He does there.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

