Inspiration

Books are the plane, the train, and the road. They are the destination and the journey. They are home.  -Anna Quindlen

Anything that talks about home fascinates me, probably because I have no idea where home is right now except in the presence of God.

Anything that talks about journey or traveling makes me both filled with the urge to GO and makes me question all the going that my generation does, all the sending off and returning, transitioning in and out of temporary homes. I want to do it, I have done it, I’m not saying it’s bad. I am saying that in our traveling we know we gain, but we forget that we also lose.

Anything that talks about books brings me pure delight, probably because my 2nd grade teacher introduced the Boxcar children books to me and my librarian introduced me to Nancy Drew….I was lost from that point on.

Books are the plane, the train, and the road. They are the destination and the journey. They are home.  -Anna Quindlen

I’m currently reading Tweak, by Nic Sheff, a drug addict whose drug of choice is irrevocably crystal meth. The last 100 pages I have learned more about getting high than I ever wanted to know. It’s not pleasant. I read on because there are so many addicts in America and around the world, and I want to understand them. I want to understand the people around me, and in understanding I want to let go of judgment. Reading this book is a journey. Yet it makes my home, wherever that is, a place where I understand more. Where I am hopefully better because of the journey.

tweak people tweak

Oh, and if you’re curious. Nic has spent a full year sober prior to the beginning of this book. It didn’t stick. Today, he has been sober again for a while. I hope it sticks. This is him and his dad, another great author of a book (Beautiful Boy) that addresses life with a son whose an addict.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

