Obligatory Wedding Planning Post

Isn't this a fun winter idea?

Isn’t this a fun winter idea?

I have read dozens of “I’m planning a wedding and here is what has surprised me and I am exhausted and overwhelmed but excited to marry my love” posts in the last few years. I figure it’s my turn. Except lately I’ve been huge into list-making, so this post is also going to be written in list-form.

Praises:
-caterer booked with a deposit to be mailed in tomorrow
-reception location booked
-first conversation with pastor scheduled for this week
-dress ready (I think)
-Nathan is always willing to help when and where he can in the planning. It’s not my day. It’s ours.
-my family is very supportive, as is Nathan’s
-I’m so in love with Nathan and cannot wait to be his wife.

Stresses:
-everything takes longer than it should
Example: “Just pick a caterer. They both sound good. Flip a coin” says Nathan. Kiersten then goes and emails the one that is picked. She then fills out the paperwork, prints it at work, sends it to the correct address after determining what 20% is for the deposit. Easy things, but they add up and make the process feel looonngg. And we are only having an 8 month engagement. I don’t think I could have done this for 18+ months like some people do.
-people have lots of conflicts around Christmas, which is when we are getting married (December 27)
-I’m not the greatest at decision making. I just want people to be happy.
-I’m not just planning a wedding. I’m preparing a classroom for the fall while managing a different classroom this summer.
-Nathan’s not just planning a wedding. He is preparing a classroom for the fall while managing a very full summer work schedule.
-my family is a long drive away during this process
-I really hate getting pictures taken or planning them, but I want a save the date. Someone should help me with this. If it’s not too late.

Bottom line (literally): I am pumped to get married to my fiancĂ©. I’m not the best at wedding planning, and it’s not my favorite thing to do. But things are getting done, and I praise God for what has been “checked off the list” and for what is still to be completed.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

