Alice

Photo on 9-30-14 at 4.15 PMThis is me, excited about receiving a letter from  Alice, a child I sponsor in Rwanda. I decided to sponsor a child through Compassion along with a friend of mine (to lessen the financial burden) back in college. It was something I wanted to do back in high school, but without an income I knew it wasn’t possible. My income of $150/month in college wasn’t much better than nothing, but I figured if I could afford ridiculous amounts of chocolate then I could afford helping a child. This is one decision that I know the Lord had been pushing me to make for years, and it felt great to finally say “yes, I’ll do it.”

Fast forward 3 years–now it is October, 2014, and my income is more than $150/month but sponsoring a child is still a financial commitment. Still, I have never doubted this decision. In fact, I felt the Lord pushing me to make another bold move through Compassion–take on 3 more children.

Release3…this campaign encourages committed sponsors to take 3 new children’s names and seek sponsors for them. By sharing my story as a sponsor and praying daily for a month for these kids, Compassion believes we can expand our impact as a community of sponsors 3 times over. Dominic, Alwan, Sitlali–I’m rooting for you. I’m praying for you and your future sponsors, that they would step out in courage regardless of their financial situations. No one else is praying daily for Dominic, Alwan, and Sitlali. No one else is actively searching for sponsors–in fact, their names are not available to anyone else except through me this month. I don’t take this responsibility lightly, but I also know that the Lord is the one working in hearts, not me.

Bring them a family, Lord. These 3 kids deserve it more than I do.

To get involved, visit Compassion.com or let me know of your interest. Or just pray.

compassion.com

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

