I can’t get over you…

I’ve been reading journals I wrote in Greece. This is really hard. All the little things bring me to tears because I miss it. So much. Reading about how I ate cherries. I haven’t had a cherry since. I can’t even remember what they taste like. This shouldn’t be a big deal. In fact, it’s not. But The Lord has placed Athens and more specifically the GrBC in Pikermi on my heart and I can’t get over it. I can’t get over the people, the idea behind why the college exists…I can’t get over the library or the sounds each morning or waking up without an alarm to the sun rising and the dogs barking and the church bells ringing. I can’t get over the morning walks that probably weren’t the smartest idea alone and without a cell phone or any way to protect myself but nonetheless were so life giving. I can’t get over the feeling of words overflowing at the end of each day…words that I wrote in journals and on this blog and sang to made up tunes on an untuned piano in the green chapel.

Greece, I can’t get over you. I try to surrender this to The Lord and yet I don’t think he is taking it from me. He doesn’t want me to get over it. It’s been 15 months and I’ve at least come to realize that much.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

