1st Classroom party and day of conferences=success

Realizing that I even made it to the end of the week alive is exciting. The fact that I have a smile on my face may just be a miracle. Here is a recap:

Report cards due
Conferences
Translators
Painting with kids
Can Drive
Extra Recesses
Fall Party

…and that’s just the school stuff! I also managed to make it to the post office, bank, and automative place between 3:30 and 4 today. Now I’m back at school processing the week.

Report cards weren’t too hard to get ready since I enter them into a system online, but all the last minute assignments to grade definitely make for a lot of “home” work. I don’t think I’ll ever be too old for that.

Conferences made for a 13 hour day at school, but I really enjoyed meeting with parents that I’ve only spoken with once before, or even not at all. One sad thing I noticed–only 2 of my 9 conferences last night were with parents who were both still living at home with their 5th grader. One great thing I noticed–I love the diversity in our school, and even enjoy using translators in conferences!

My kids’ weekly highlight (even over our fall party): extra recess with high school boys. Who knew how cool teenage boys were? My students earned it by bringing the most cans in the can drive. One kid emptied his house cabinets with about 50 cans brought in one morning.

Fall party: Wow. I have to admit that I was dreading it, but it turned into a great chance to hang out with my kiddos and see their creativity as they decorated pumpkins provided by awesome parents. I wish I could show you all my pictures, but I’m keeping the pics with students’ faces off the web.

photo 1

photo 2

Some of the finished ones!

Some of the finished ones!

One of my kids' families has a bit of a knack with balloons! Sure does make a party fun!

One of my kids’ families has a bit of a knack with balloons! Sure does make a party fun!

photo 3

photo 4

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

