Married Life

Nathan and I have both experienced a lot of, “So how is married life?” questions lately. Here is my attempt at an answer.

10428020_10153188454521509_206670464167112029_nI moved. I left my keys in my apartment the morning of the wedding and didn’t look back. That right there has been an adjustment. My new home has felt like just that, home, for months. Still, fitting all my stuff in and feeling like it is just as much my place as my husband’s is…sometimes tricky.

Today was supposed to be the first day back in a “routine” that involves the students we both have missed this Christmas break. A winter storm cut short that normalcy, though, with an early out. I’m ready for routine. Right now there are so many times I’m just not sure what to do. But that’s nice, too. I think I need lots of time in this season of transition into life alongside another person.

As I read over this it sounds so negative. But I am so excited to be married! I wake up so thrilled to be with my closest friend, and Nathan can attest to how much I bother him throughout the day because I am so giddy to be his wife.

We’re together. We’re happy. We’re transitioning. Not everything is easy, but it’s worth it.

Just some thoughts on married life from someone who has been married a whopping 10 days 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Married Life

  1. kristenhen says:

    First of all, congratulations! The pictures keep rolling in on FB, and you looked so lovely and happy. 🙂
    Second of all, good thoughts. It is a huge transition to start living with your spouse. I elbowed Mike in the face many, many mornings during our first year of marriage when I rolled over and forgot that someone else was in the bed! Good thing he has a hard head. 😉 You are wise to remember that this is a big change but one you can tackle with joy. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

