Home

Home. My favorite word. I write about it a lot, and I think about it even more. Right now my home is an apartment next to a taxidermy shop. It’s where I live with my husband and 17 or so fish. It’s where I try to find homes for my hundreds of books, occasionally cook, deal with clogged sinks and tackle piles of laundry. It’s where I feel most content.

But my heart is also still in a little college near Athens, Greece,
And in a dorm that I devoted 3 years to,
And in a house in Sioux City where a lawyer lives now,
And in a home with a big porch in Missouri where my parents live,
And in my classroom 20 miles down the road.

Today I gave a church friend a ride to our Wednesday night class and she talked about moving 20 miles down the road to the next town for work and also because then she is now in the same town as her and her husband’s families. And I thought about how different it would be if Nathan and I’s families were close by.

What will we do if we have children and need a babysitter in an emergency?
Who do I call when my car stops working and my husband is at work in another town?
Who do I see that I know when we go to the city festivals at the park?
What if I want to see my brother’s concerts his senior year?
There are people I can call, but I wish it could be my family.

I miss them–my mom and sister are some of my best friends, my dad is my biggest supporter, and my brother is my favorite young man. And I wish that home were nearer my family, but it isn’t. My heart is in many places, but my home is here with my husband and my fish in the apartment near the taxidermy shop.

“For we know that if the earthly tent we live in is destroyed, we have a building from God, an eternal house in heaven, not built by human hands. Meanwhile we groan, longing to be clothed instead with our heavenly dwelling…Therefore we are always confident and know that as long as we are at home in the body we are away from the Lord…We are confident, I say, and would prefer to be away from the body and at home with the Lord.” ~2 Corinthians 5

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

