Summer & 2 Timothy

It’s been much too long since I wrote, so here goes.

The school year ended yesterday for teachers at my school. However, I’m writing this from my desk in my classroom. Summer school supplies are ready to go (begins Monday), I spent the morning tutoring, and Nathan and I are trying to put together a schedule for next week. In short, summer is a different season, but still busy for this teacher.

Here is a quote that has been on my mind as of late:

1 In the presence of God and of Christ Jesus, who will judge the living and the dead, and in view of his appearing and his kingdom, I give you this charge:Preach the word; be prepared in season and out of season; correct, rebuke and encourage—with great patience and careful instruction. -from 2 Timothy 4

Careful instruction? I know what that is, I’m a teacher. As I was dissecting this, I realized that reprimanding, rebuking, and encouraging other people with patience and careful instructions means that, as a Christian, I need to know my stuff. I can’t be a good instructor unless I have strong content knowledge and pedagogy. I have to know what I teach but also how to teach.

So what is the content I must know in order to “preach the word” as Timothy and all believers are charged? The Word of God and the story of God, which includes my story as a believer! And what is the methodology I need to teach effectively? This verse says it–I need patience. My take-away: I need to be in the word MUCH more than I currently am. And I need to stop being so quick to assume, quick to speak, quick to anger, quick to ANYTHING. I need to be patient and wait. (this might require some listening on my part)

Not to go off-topic, but this also reminded me to politics. In order to speak truth, whether in the form of correcting, rebuking, or encouraging–I need to show patience and I need to know what I’m talking about. I need to research my content, but also be patient.

That’s all, folks. I hope to write more this summer–because reading is the key to learning, but writing is the key to thinking.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

