Faithfulness Springs Forth From the Earth

I have been memorizing Psalm 85:8-13 over the last few weeks. Verse 11 really stuck out to me today–so here are my thoughts.

I started memorizing this passage because verse 13 stuck out to me.

Righteousness goes before him and prepares the way for his steps.

Psalm 85:13

I understood this to mean that my righteousness (moral correctness) would allow the Lord to come beside me and help me through each step. If I did the right things, the Lord would be with me. But as I studied verse 11 today it struck me that my role is really not righteousness.

Faithfulness springs forth from the earth, and righteousness looks down from heaven.

Psalm 85:11

I am not a righteous person. I fall short every day.

But the Lord, in heaven, is righteous. That’s why righteousness looks down from heaven.

My job, my role, is to be faithful (loyal, constant). I have been placed here on earth, and from the earth comes faithfulness. To trust in Him, to obey his Word, to walk humbly and seek justice consistent with the Gospel–this is my job as a faithful earthly servant of the Most High God.

So after thinking on this, I decide to look to Matthew. I read the first chapter, and right away notice Mary’s faithfulness is bearing God’s son, Jesus. Then Joseph’s faithfulness to God in staying with Mary even though the world said to divorce her. Then the Magi’s faithfulness in following the star, leaving their homes, looking for Christ but also heeding the dream which said not to return to Herod once they did find him. It goes on and on. Mary and Joseph fleeing to Egypt when told to and then going to Nazareth (as prophecy foretold) simply based on Joseph’s fear of returning where Herod’s son now ruled. Joseph responded to his circumstances and was willing to go wherever he was supposed to. He was faithful. And even the prophet’s faithfulness in saying what they learned or heard from the Lord even when they didn’t understand it, to the benefit of all of us looking back on how Jesus fulfilled these prophecies. In just 2 chapters of Matthew, I see how the people’s faithfulness to the Lord is a righteous act, and how that faithfulness is rewarded.

Just some thoughts…take ’em or leave ’em.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

