On Genesis, Preparing my Heart, and God’s Plan.

Today I finished reading the book of Genesis. It wasn’t the first time I’d read it, but it was the first time I’d read it this quickly–in about 2 weeks. A friend of mine invited all she knew to read through the bible with her this year using the Read Scripture app. It’s produced by crazy love ministries, and the Bible Project has videos throughout the app that explain overarching themes of each book or section of a book and help me think deeper about what I’m reading. I also love that the videos don’t dive into the controversies (for example, whether Genesis 1 and 2 are meant to describe a literal 7 day creation or not), but they do cover what’s important–God’s story for humanity as shown through his Word.

I’ve been trying to be more consistent in my reading of the Word ever since I graduated from college, but it’s been an ongoing struggle. Mornings I’m too tired, or I don’t know quite what to read, etc. I’ve had a lot of phases where I’ve been focused on a part of Scripture, but nothing that lasted more than a month or 2. I can’t promise that this app will be something I’m faithful in reading for more than the next month, but I can tell you that it’s been good for my faith in the last 16 days. I know that as I get closer to baby coming and then in the summer when our little one, God-willing, makes his arrival, I will likely be tired. But I also know that this is a great time to prepare my heart just as I’m preparing our 2nd bedroom to be a nursery.

So what did I “get” out of reading Genesis? I was reminded of God’s plan for each person. Abraham lived for decades before God called to him. Sarah thought that she could never be a mother and laughed when God told her she could! Jacob was devastated when his son, Joseph, was “killed,” but his brothers’ betrayal led to the nation of Israel growing in Egypt and really surviving through the years of famine. Joseph thought his life was over as he was thrown in prison for doing nothing wrong, but he was rescued years later through an odd connection. Brothers were upset for not receiving a blessing they thought they deserved, but God had a plan for each sibling. God is at work, and he has been for so many years. I have every reason to trust Him. He knows what He’s doing.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

